exploring astrological systems

Exploring Astrological Systems: Western, Vedic and Real Sky Astrology

exploring astrological systems

Every now and again, I go through a phase of looking at my Western Astrology Natal Chart and not feeling the energies of it. That’s when I circle back around to one of the other two astrological systems, Vedic or Real Sky Astrology to make sense of it all and gain a different perspective.

Traditional Western, Real Sky and Vedic Astrology are all useful systems for interpreting celestial influences on human life. Within each of these systems, there are many variations as well. While all astrological systems share some similarities, there are several key differences between them that are good to be aware of.


Vedic (aka Jyotish) Astrology originates from ancient Indian scriptures known as the Vedas, while Traditional Western Astrology has roots in European and Middle Eastern traditions. However, some Western Astrologers claim that Vedic Astrology came to India from the West, though I have seen no real hard evidence of this.

Perhaps, ultimately, both systems arrived originally on Earth via extraterrestrial ancestors and took on a flavour of their own depending on who those ancestors were as well as where in the world the teachings landed.

The Real Sky system of astrology, which incorporates the 13th sign Ophiucus, is a modern approach to astrology that seeks to align with the current position of constellations in the sky with mathematical precision.

Zodiac Systems

Vedic Astrology employs the Sidereal Zodiac, which considers the current position of constellations in relation to Earth. In contrast, Traditional Western Astrology primarily uses the Tropical Zodiac, which is based on seasonal markers (e.g., the position of the Sun during the equinoxes).

While Real Sky Astrology is closer to the Vedic system in terms of using the current position of constellations, it is off by a few degrees. If you are curious about your Real Sky chart and where Ophicus lands in your chart, you can check it out here.


Vedic Astrology employs complex mathematical calculations to determine planetary positions at the time of birth, including the Lunar and Navamsa charts. Traditional Western Astrology relies heavily on the Solar chart and simpler calculations.

Real Sky Astrology charts use the midpoint between constellations as sign boundaries. They take into account the true size of constellations along the ecliptic.


Vedic Astrology places significant emphasis on predicting and understanding life events, particularly about spiritual growth and karma. Traditional Western Astrology often emphasises psychological traits and personality analysis though there are subsets, such as horary astrology, which are more concerned with fortune-telling. Real Sky Astrology is helpful in understanding the “essence” of the personality and the soul.

Division of Zodiac

In Vedic Astrology, the Zodiac is divided into 27 Lunar Mansions or Nakshatras, each associated with specific qualities. Western Astrology, on the other hand, puts the emphasis on the Zodiac 12 signs, each lasting for approximately 30 degrees.

In True Sky Astrology, the division of the zodiac incorporates the 13th sign, Ophiucus. Ophiucus is situated between the constellations of Scorpio and Sagittarius along the ecliptic. This zodiac sign represents the energy of healing and wisdom, offering a unique perspective to one’s astrological chart.

In my Real Sky Sidereal chart, Ophicus lands in the third house. This is perfect considering the type of work I do: blogging (third house) about metaphysical topics that help people transform (Ophicus) their lives.

Mix and Match

I have come to the conclusion that I do not need to choose one system over the other. For general predictions pertaining to world events, Western Astrology somehow seems to hit the nail on the head most of the time. I have also found it to be accurate when it comes to many transits and progressions in my own life.

However, for my inner workings and figuring out the karmic implications of past choices as well as (most importantly) my true will, I quite happily turn to Vedic and Real Sky Astrology for a fresh perspective when I need it.

So, in short, just like you don’t have to choose between using Tarot cards, oracle cards or runes but can use them to complement each other, you can use these three astrological systems for a more nuanced picture of your celestial make-up and destiny. In fact, it can be quite freeing to not tie yourself too firmly to one system!

Tarot Reflection on What Each Astrological System Brings You

Now that you know a bit more about the different astrological systems, you can pull out your Tarot deck (or runes or oracle cards!) and reflect on what you stand to gain from working with each of these three astrological systems.

Simply enter into a meditative state and pull one card (or rune) for each. Journal your intuitive understanding of the benefit of working with each of these systems of astrology.

The three cards I got were Justice for Western, Hanged Man for Vedic and 6 of Pentacles for Real Sky.

I take this to mean that Justice is perfect for getting the bigger picture and bringing things into harmony here in the 3D matrix. The Hanged Man tells me that, for me, Vedic Astrology takes me deeper into the spiritual journey path of my destiny, whereas Real Sky Astrology is best right now for achieving the material success I am striving for.

Perhaps the latter makes sense in terms of abundance coming about through creative self-expression which is facilitated by radiating my essence into the world.

Which of these systems have you explored and worked with? Do you have a favourite? Let me know in the comments!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *