what's my vice a tough love tarot spread

What’s My Vice? A Tough Love Tarot Spread

tough love tarot spread - seven deadly sins

The Seven Deadly Sins

In the Western tradition, there are seven deadly sins or vices and seven virtues. But let’s stick with the word vices. In this day and age, it’s not popular to talk about sin. In fact, the word sin has become politically incorrect and virtually taboo. This is understandable because the word has both been misinterpreted and abused by those in power. Beware of anybody wielding the word sin to shame others instead of examining his own soul!

The word ‘sin’ is a so-so translation of the Greek word hamartia which means to miss the mark (imagine an archer shooting a stray arrow). In other words, to sin is simply to be out of alignment with the Divine. Thus it should come as no surprise that as humans, we cannot help but ‘sin’ on a daily basis. Let’s face it, more often than not, our ego is in the driver’s seat instead of Spirit/our Higher Self.

However, in classical Greek tragedy, the word hamartia can also refer to a more deeply rooted character flaw. Now, I don’t believe we are born with these flaws (although we could be karmically/genetically predisposed toward one or more). It’s when we make ‘missing the mark’ a habit that we create neural pathways that control our non-conscious responses and reinforce flawed or harmful behaviour. We all have character flaws and are thus more predisposed toward one or more of the seven vices. So today, we are going to own up to our vices with a bit of help from the Tarot!

Tough Love

To have a growth mindset means continuing to look at ways of improving our health, habits, responses, relationships, and work output. It’s very easy to start letting things slide. But this doesn’t mean that we should feel shame about what we are doing now or have done in the past. It simply means having the discipline to look honestly at our habits and scan those habits for anything that we can improve. It’s all about breaking through that resistance to change. And as we all know, there can be no growth without change!

Vices and Virtues

Today, we are using a list of the seven vices commonly referred to as ‘the seven deadly sins’ together with the Tarot. We begin with identifying which of the seven vices is our main vice. You may already be aware of what your main vice is but have a look at the list anyway because you also need to identify the corresponding virtue.

Read through the list below and stop where you feel resistance. This is the area your Higher Self wants you to develop now. Simply observe without judgment. If you do judge yourself, state out loud: ‘I forgive myself for judging myself for __________’ Focus on one vice/area to improve for now. Doing focused work on replacing one vice with the corresponding virtue is better than spreading yourself thin by trying to fix everything at once.

Lust – Purity/Chastity

Gluttony – Temperance

Greed – Charity

Sloth/Apathy – Diligence

Anger – Patience

Envy/Jealousy – Kindness

Pride – Humility

Calling in Your Angel Team

Before you move on to doing the Tarot reading, you may wish to call in some assistance from Spirit. You may wish to call on Archangel Jeremiel for help with an honest review of your vices and habits. You can also call on Archangel Cassiel, ruler of Saturn, to avoid pulling the wool over your own eyes. Strict Cassiel only helps those who help themselves but he has a soft spot for those who are willing to own up their vices. Archangel Michael is great to invoke for help with severing cords to negativity or addictions. Ask Archangel Zadkiel (aka Sachiel) to help you expand into virtue for the Highest Good.

What’s My Vice? A Tough Love Tarot Spread

What's My Vice? A Tough Love Tarot Spread

Take your time reflecting on the meaning of each card. Remember, you are trying to reach the deeper layers of consciousness here, so the answers may not be immediately apparent. This is your chance to practice the virtue of patience 😉 Take lots of notes! The process of writing your thoughts down will also help you to go deeper.

Try the ‘Kill Your Excuses Tarot Spread’ if you want to dig even deeper!

The man of perfect virtue, wishing to be established himself, seeks also to establish others; wishing to be enlarged himself, he seeks also to enlarge others.
~ Confucius


Lisa Frideborg

Book a reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *